top of page

How to pick up Litter with your bare hands


So you see litter on the ground and want to pick it up but you just don't have the equipment necessary to remove it. Well you can use your bare hands, bear in mind some useful health & safety tips.

Step 1. Assess the litter itself; is it small or big to remove? Is it dry or wet? Is it dirty or just happens to be clean?

Step 2. Is it within easy access to pick up?

Step 3. Are there other employed litter pickers already in the area?

Step 4. You could carry the litter using your hands or put it in a clean bag until you find the nearest bin (do not put in a full bin).

Step 5. Dispose of it; whether this is in a public bin, recycling container or just your own bin at home, it doesn't matter where you correctly dispose of it.

Who Am I?

I'm Jonathan Rainey. I have High-Functioning Autism (or Asperger Syndrome) and I am a Voluntary Litter Picker. Please note I am still working on creating the site. Thank you for your patience.

Other Posts
The sites I use when reporting litter problems:
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • YouTube Basic Black
Search By Tags
bottom of page